To My Old Master

Here is a witty and moving letter, written by a freed slave in response to his former master’s request that he return and work for him. Reposted from Letters of Note.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to To My Old Master

  1. Larry Reed says:

    Though our skin is black and we have accepted our plight as your forced slaves as graciously as possible under the circumstances, we’re not stupid donkeys who enjoy this relationship. We have human feelings, a sense of morality, and a desire to command our own ship. It is the height of presumptuousness and arrogance to think that me and my family would actually choose to return to a situation where we not only work for you for free but must suffer the indignities of my daughters being subject to your sexual whims. You must be not only stupid but crazy.

Leave a comment